Innovators honoured in 2010 GTB Awards

Published on:

Global Telecoms Business has presented its 2010 Innovation Awards to the operators and vendors behind the world’s most exciting projects in the industry

Global Telecoms Business has announced the winners of its 2010 Innovation Awards.
The industry’s leading innovators from around the world were honoured in front of an estimated 330 people at a black-tie dinner in London tonight.
The winners represent the most innovative projects in the industry worldwide in five key categories:
1: fixed infrastructure innovation;
2: wireless infrastructure innovation;
3: wholesale service innovation;
4: business service innovation;
5: consumer service innovation.
In presenting the awards, Alan Burkitt-Gray, editor of Global Telecoms Business, commented: “This is the fourth time we’ve run our Innovation Awards and each year we’ve seen that the industry is working harder and harder to deliver exciting and innovative services to its customers worldwide.”
Operators honoured at the 2010 ranged from large global organisations such as Verizon and Telefónica to regional specialists such as NYnet and Astelit.
“Congratulations to all the award winners,” said Burkitt-Gray. “The industry is seeing a wave of innovation which is making a huge difference — to the companies working in the industry and to all of us in business and as consumers. They are making such a difference to the world. We want to celebrate what they are doing.”
All awards went to projects, involving a close collaboration between an operator and a vendor, and executives journeyed from India, Russia, South Africa, the US and many other parts of the world to the London event.

Winners in full

Fixed network infrastructure innovation

Rural backbone innovation
Winners: Telstra with Prysmian
Arnhem Land fibre project with Prysmian

Metropolitan infrastructure innovation
Winners: du with Motorola
Integrated TV — IPTV, HD, VoD

International infrastructure innovation
Winners: Epsilon Telecommunications with BTI Systems
Innovative and dynamic metro services

National infrastructure innovation
Winners: ZON Multimedia with Sigma Systems
Triple-play and quad-play service transformation project

Infrastructure service management innovation
Winners: Magyar Telekom with HP
Service provisioning and activation

Wireless network infrastructure innovation

LTE infrastructure innovation
Winners: TeliaSonera with Ericsson
World’s first commercial LTE network

LTE infrastructure innovation
Winners: CSL with ZTE
World’s first dual-band commercial network

Green base station innovation
Winners: Vodafone with Huawei
Green compact base station

Green power innovation
Winners: Orange with Tenesol Solar Energie
Solar base station programme

Energy efficiency innovation
Winners: Portugal Telecom with Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs
Green Touch pan-industry eco-initiative

Mobile interconnect innovation
Winners: XConnect with the GSM Association
SuperQuery for IP traffic routing between service providers

Mobile applications innovation
Winners: Telus with Aepona
GSM Association OneAPI pilot

Core network innovation
Winners: XL Axiata with Ericsson
Evolved core network

3G site innovation
Winners: Telefónica O2 with Nokia Siemens Networks
High-performance 3G base station

Wireless network innovation
Winners: Cox Communications with Syniverse
Combined MVNO and 3G CDMA network

Wireless network planning innovation
Winners: Arqiva with Star Net Geomatics
Laser surveying of telecoms infrastructure

Wholesale service innovation

Ethernet service innovation
Winners: Verizon with CENX
Carrier ethernet exchange implementation

Submarine cable innovation
Winners: Gateway Communications with Seacom
African MPLS services on submarine cable

IP service innovation
Winners: iBasis with Genband
Session border control for wholesale VoIP

Wholesale network innovation
Winners: BT with Huawei
Service enablement through software developer kit

Wholesale voice innovation
Winners: Deutsche Telekom with Ascom Deutschland
GATE voice trading system

Business service innovation

Satellite IT innovation
Winners: Q-Kon with ND SatCom
IT applications over satellite

Satellite service innovation
Winners: SeaMobile Europe with Expand Networks
Resilient satellite communications for Tearfund

Satellite billing innovation
Winners: Thuraya with LHS
Centralised billing and customer support

Supply chain innovation
Winners: Vodafone with cVidya
Dealer risk management

Business delivery innovation
Winners: Aircel with Oracle
Offer design and delivery service

Subscriber service innovation
Winners: Telefónica with Nokia Siemens Networks
Identity management for subscriber-centric networks

Open access network innovation
Winners: NYnet with Occam Networks
Business park open access fibre network

Business application innovation
Winners: Exponential-e with Alcatel-Lucent
Corporate WANs with application management and control

IT service innovation
Winners: BT with Riverbed
WAN optimisation service

Small and medium business service innovation
Winners: mobilkom austria with Kapsch CarrierCom
Fixed/mobile convergent centrex

Business migration innovation
Winners: BT with Ontology Systems
Optimising and accelerating product and system migration

Consumer service innovation

Consumer charging innovation
Winners: Tata Teleservices with Telcordia Technologies
Innovative real-time charging services

Consumer network innovation
Winners: Telefónica with Movius
Secondary mobile line service

Consumer bank-card innovation
Winners: MTS with Intervale
Card service to pay for mobile, internet and other services

Location-based service innovation
Winners: Pelephone Communications with Telmap
GPS navigator for personal mobile location

Convergent billing innovation
Winners: Astelit with Orga Systems
Convergent billing for total marketing support

Pay-as-you-go innovation
Winners: Vodafone with ZTE
Credit balance display

TV service innovation
Winners: H3G with SeaChange International
Subscription TV on-demand service

Airline service innovation
Winners: Aircell with Martin Dawes Systems
In-flight wi-fi internet service

Consumer voting innovation
Winners: TalkTalk with Huawei
Cost-free contestant voting for customers

Editor’s award

Editor’s award for personal contribution
to the global telecoms industry
Winners: Keith Willetts of the TMForum

All awards, with the exception of the Editor’s Award, were nominated by readers of Global Telecoms Business. The awards were sponsored by Huawei and ZTE, though neither company played any part in shortlisting or selecting the winners.

Full details of the winning projects will be given online shortly and in the next printed issue of Global Telecoms Business. GTB